Dr. Martin's notes

Thursday March 16, 2017

Elbow anatomy

The elbow is composed of three bones: the humerus, ulna, and radius. The humerus articulates with the radius and ulna, forming a hinge joint. Many structures, including ligaments, nerves, muscles, and bursa sacs, surround the elbow joint.

Muscles of the Elbow
Three muscles flex the forearm at the elbow: the brachialis, the biceps brachii, and the brachioradialis.. Two muscles extend the arm: the triceps brachii and the anconeus.